The Winner of 12th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition is Erol Sarıdoğan from Moevenpick Hotel, Istanbul

The oldest gastronomy association in the world “Chaîne des Rôtisseurs” branch in Turkey organized the 12th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition on April 23 in Yeditepe University. The 1st prize winner of the competition, Erol Sarıdoğan from Moevenpick Hotel will represent Turkey among other 25 countries from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and the Americas in the International Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition which will take place on September 19th, 2008 in Paris, France. The second prize winner was Ali Keskin from Ankara Hilton Hotel and the third prize winner was Ferdi Akın from Ceylan Intercontinental Istanbul Hotel.

Twelve talented chefs from various hotels and restaurants around Turkey participated in the competition hosted by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Yeditepe University, Mr. Bedrettin Dalan and the Dean of the Faculty of Fine Arts, Prof. Dr. Bike Kocaoğlu, who is also one of Turkey’s top nutritionists. In the competition where the young chefs showed all their talents, each was given a mystery basket (black box) each containing 67 different ingredients, including 16 mandatory ingredients that they should use in their cooking. Each competitor had approximately four and a half hours, of which the first 30 minutes was spent on deciding what food each competitor will cook and writing a three course menu; including an appetizer, a main course and a dessert for four persons with the ingredients revealed only at the very beginning of the competition.

The judging panel that was comprised of 12 judges of which 6 were professional chefs and 6 non-professional members of the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs evaluated and rated each dish to select the first three winners, based on three main criteria; taste, presentational and originally/creativity. This year’s professional judges included Executive Chef of Four Seasons Hotel, Fabio Brambilla; the Executive Chef of Şans Restaurant, Ali Ekber Sarıgül; the Executive Chef of all Divan Restaurants, Levent Şahin who is also the winner of the 4th Young Commis Chefs Competititon in 2000, Selim Kansu/Dedeman Hotel Antalya; and Dilistan Shipman, Assistant Head of Gastronomy Yeditepe University; and Culinary Consultant Marc Decker. The non-professional judges included the Managing Director of Gate Gourmet USAŞ, Mohamed Hammam, Niso Adato, the owner of Şans Restaurant, Hasan Açanal from Yeditepe Univeristy; the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Board Members, Güven Osma and Tuluy Ergörül; and the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Members Dilek Bil, Eli Alalu and Tiğin Sertcan from the Bailliage in Ankara . The kitchen judge was the Instructor Chef de Cuisine Yeditepe University, David Shipman. The overall organizers of the competition were the former Executive Chef of Acıbadem Hospital, Aybek Şurdum and the Executive Chef of LSG Sky Chefs, Erich Ruppen.

At the Prize Award Ceremony moderated by the Head of Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Turkey Mohamed Hammam the Turkish gourmet Tuğrul Şavkay who died in 2003 was commemorated as well. Hammam asked the guests to attribute a minute of silence in respect for Tuğrul Şavkay who had contributed enormously to the development of culinary arts country wide and who had together with Prof. Dr. Bike Kocaoğlu begun the idea of founding the School of Cuisine and Culinary Arts at the Yeditepe University. Thereafter the recognition of the event sponsors, namely:

- Mr. Bedrettin Dalan and Mrs. Bike Kocaoğlu from Yeditepe University for their overall support and for opening the University kitchens for this event

- Bengiz Uniforms for sponsoring these fine chefs jackets;

- Wüsthof Knives for sponsoring the prizes;

- A Plus/Acıbadem and their suppliers G2M for sponsoring the ingredients of the mystery baskets;

- Imren Marmara for sponsoring the sea food ingredients;

- Mey Içki and their Kayra wineries for sponsoring the alcoholic beverage for this cocktail.
and the announcement of the winners were conducted.

In order to see photos from the event please click